Get involved.

hello readers 🙂

the blog had technical issues, if you’ve faced any problems this week, please accept my apologies.

i’ve sorted out the problems and hopefully everything is back to its original.

today’s post is all about how your simple ignorance can prove to be a question of life and death for some1.

remember to always stand up for the right thing, and no matter if your step is a big1 or small, it counts, and it can make a difference.

if you like this post, please consider forwarding this to others, because only through collective efforts, we can bring a change. 🙂


Get involved.

She was such a pretty child,
as pretty as could be,
The blondest hair and bluest eyes,
this little girl of three.

She lived next door ,
I would often see her play outside,
Putting all her dollies,
in a wagon for a ride.

I often thought how beautiful,
she would be when she’s grown,
She was just the cutest thing,
as she played there alone.

I only knew her parents,
from a passing wave or “hi.”,
They did not want to socialize,
each time that I would try.

I sometimes heard them arguing,
when I was in my yard,
I know the problems people have,
can sometimes make life hard.

I thought they were just loners,
because they kept to them self,
They might think I am nosy,
if I try to offer help.

They never bother anyone,
the other neighbors say,
And the little girl can only,
go outback to play.

You only see them come and go,
they never stay outside,
You wonder when they act like that,
have they something to hide?

One day I heard them arguing,
much louder than before,
As I looked out from my yard,
the little girl was standing by her door.

Her little face was bruised,
and tears were running down her cheek,
I wanted to go over there,
but I was scared and meek.

Finally when the screaming stopped,
and everything was calm,
I saw the little girl was being,
held close to her mom.

Her mother rocked her back and forth,
and she was crying too,
i was standing in my back yard,
there was nothing I could do.

Nothing I could ever do,
would be of any use,
This mother and this little girl,
were suffering abuse.

She had better call someone,
and get this thing resolved,
But, it is not my business,
and I cannot get involved.

As I spoke with neighbors,
about what went on next door,
They all agreed that it was sad,
it’s something we abhor.

It’s something we must overlook,
we cannot interfere,
But, now we sing a different tune,
as we are gathered here.

The neighborhood feels guilty,
for we looked the other way,
because we all are responsible,
for being here today.

We feel the anger,and shame,
because we all stood by,
Knowing now we could have helped,
but didn’t even try.

And now this little three year old,
so beautiful to me,
Surrounded by her dollies,
just the way she loved to be.

Is in a little casket,
with her body limp and frail,
Her mom is in intensive care,
her dad is now in jail.

The funeral home is quiet,
because we all realize,
The reason you must get involved,
is right before our eyes.

Abuse in any form,
is something we must all resent,
And fight with every tool we have,
to save our innocent.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Get involved.

  1. rileymcstone says:

    Great eye opener! This is exactly the type of thing we should all seek to end.

    Thanks for the post.

  2. AANCHAL AGRAWAL says:

    heart touching.

  3. angel says:

    a really wonderful poem.. the words have been carved so specially that the emotions behind them are clearly interpreted..

Leave a Reply

